The Prospective Book Shopper

Having pre-ordered three books on Amazon, I suspect that I have turned from retrospective book shopper to prospective book shopper. Pre-ordering means that I pay online (at a claimed-to-be discount guaranteed price) a book before it is published. Ideally (which never happened), the book will be delivered to me in no time of its publication.

The first book I pre-ordered last year was Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking, Fast and Slow. I finished it. It was an impressive read! I recommend it to everybody.

This year, I have ordered to books:

1. Why Nations Fail, by Acemoglu and Robinson.

2.The Social Conquest of Earth, by Wilson.

The former will come out March 20, and the latter April 9.

If I go broke someday, it would be due to my prospective book-shopping, because I am spending in advance against future income flows.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • onlylonely  On March 5, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    I envy you so much on your trust with yourself. I realize that I’m more and more dependent on others’ opinions on books and movies (esp. books since finishing a book takes far more time, which means higher risk). I’m afraid I’m losing my own taste and flavor – i guess this more or less applies to everyone as we are buried in over-abundant information.

    • mumamme  On March 5, 2012 at 4:51 pm

      No no, to be honest, I actually rely on my google readers to recommend these books to me…And I admit that I mistakenly (and miserably) got to buy some garbage books based on those inconsistent recommenders…The Kahneman book is one of the few ones that I do not regret…That’s why I got broke!!! ><…

  • Qingqing  On March 7, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Why you are borrowing from future income flows? I did not get that point.

  • mumamme  On March 7, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Yes that was a mistake…I think my cash is charged the time I pre-order, not the time that it arrives.

Leave a Reply

