Synesthesia?

I have Synesthesia, since early childhood.

Having synestheia means that I attach a specific color to every digit, letter, character and music note. This is a mapping within my brain, and the coloring scheme does not change over time.

I got to know about the term Synesthesia very recently. Knowing that Feynman also has synesthesia is quite an encouragement.

In a way, synesthesia does me good, because when I add up numbers, I am indeed adding up numbers as well as colors in my brain. For example, 3+4=7 translates to “red” + “blue”= “light yellow” in my brain. Dual-track perhaps saves me brain-processing time.

Anyone shares with me the same “disease”?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aria  On January 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Too some extent for me, but not as strict as you. BTW, “3” is yellow for me. Are there any studies on this? Gene-related?

    • mumamme  On January 15, 2012 at 2:24 pm

      Do you feel a little uncomfortable if the digit “3” is printed in red instead of yellow? Check out the wiki page for Synesthenia~The genetic/neurological basis for such a phenomenon is largely controversial.

Leave a Reply

