Snowy Schumann

I was driving alone this afternoon, listening to Schumann’s piano concerto (op.54).

To me, Schumann is always connected with snow. At the beginning of this year, I was at the concert in town, where I enjoyed the performance of this piece of concerto. I lost my favorite ring in that concert, and that is why I remembered it. That night, it snowed heavily, flooding the entire town. My footprints floated on top of the snow like leaves in a white sea.

Today winter comes again in Ann Arbor. Schumann op.54 is enjoyable, as always. I was having a gloomy weekend. Yet today, they are lighting me up. Schumann, are you my snow man?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • onlylonely  On December 5, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I go and find this piece to listen – it is as romantic as Chopin (if not more) and yet the orchestra part is much stronger than Chopin’s concerto (sorry that i cannot help compare with chopin, he’s my favorite:-p). I am happy that there is a ‘snowman’ in your gloomy days, otherwise i’ll be so worried about you..

  • Aria  On December 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Schumann said, I am your snow ghost.

    • mumamme  On December 6, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      I am a ghost too – so there is a pair of us!

Leave a Reply

